MenuPierre Schunck in Valkenburg, resistance and liberation text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in EnglishCette page en Français

Farewell to the member of the Dutch Resistance Movement "Paul" (Pierre J.A. Schunck,)
Bearer of the Resistance Cross.

Funeral oration, held by a comrade in arms "Harry" (Th. Goossen), Heerlen
during the celebration of the Eucharist at 11 a.m. in the Church of the Holy Family in Schaesberg (Landgraaf, NL), 1993 February 6th

Read ...


World War II: The Resistance of Pierre Schunck and his People
Sources :

Other sites (this window will stay open behind the new one):

 

top

At one of the first days of september 1943, the L.O.- district of Heerlen (Netherlands), was founded. One of the persons present was a man with the resistance name "Paul Simons". This happened in in the flat of rector Prompens in the St.-Jozef hospital.
L.O. meant: "Landelijke Organisatie" (National Organisation for help to hidden people like Jews, allied pilots etc.. The L.O. district, in the beginning known as L18, later as Z18, covered, in addition to Maastricht and environs, about ¾ of the southern part of the province of Limburg (Netherlands).
Curate Giel Berix from Heerlen, a friend of „Paul“’s and fellow-founder of the L.O. in Heerlen, became after the retirement of Rector Prompers by some good reasons and according to his own wishes, the leader of the district Z18 (He was arrested 21.6.1944 in Weert and died in the concentration camp of Bergen-Belsen). The district of Heerlen was divided into 9 rayons.
The present Mr. „Paul“ became the leader of the subdistrict Valkenburg. The activities of this group stretched away to and reached Gulpen and Maastricht. Also Klimmen and environs were incorporated with the subdistrict Valkenburg.

During several secret meetings and the necessary cooperation they got better acquainted with each others and some learned a little about each others familiar situations and even surnames.
„Paul“’s family name was Schunck, he lived in Valkenburg, where he had a laundry. There his wife Gerda was playing an important part too. At set times you could find „Paul“ in Heerlen in a clothing factory at the corner Kruisstraat-Geleenstraat.

„Paul“ Schunck's resistance was directed against

  • the perfidious invasion and occupation of our country
  • the dictatorial display of power, exclusive of any kind of liberty
  • the inhuman way of acting
  • the elimination and massacration of dissidents and others.

But:

His acting mainly was aimed at assistance to people in trouble:

  • To destitute families, whose husband and father had to flee, had gone into hiding, or was confined in jail or in one of the atrocious concentration camps.
  • Organising accommodation and hiding places for refugees, for Jews, for crashed allied pilots, for Resistance people wanted by the police, etc.
    Those people all standed in need of nourishment, clothing, ration-books, identity cards, ration-coupons etc.
  • The realisation of this help demanded organisation, consulting together, intensive cooperation etc., and all this inconspicuously and in secret!

„Paul“’s own business interests again and again were interrupted by the distress of other people. This situation requires too: looking out, being carefull and acting inconspicuously. ALWAYS in the hope, to be able to evade the danger (though hidden, but always present). In this atmosphere we have to look at „Paul“’s more than 2 years lasting organised resistance activities.
In addition we have to take into consideration: several times he was in real peril of his life.

In his own words: „I don’t understand. I cannot explain it. I was very lucky! But I prayed a lot!“. And he adds: „I didn’t do all this alone. And without the support by my wife lots of things would have gone totally wrong.“

„Paul“ also is a member of the intelligence group ID18.

  • 1944-9-6 he lets know that the day before Sjeng (John) Coenen and Joep (Joe) Francotte have been shot down on the Cauberg and still are lying there. What next?? For „Paul“ this shooting has remained a permanent trauma.
  • 1944-9-15 he states: „The Germans blew up the bridges over the Geul, closed the roads, they have mounted cannons and defend themselves against the advancing Americans. Several buildings are heavily damaged and several houses are burning. The greater part of the population have put themselves in safety in the lime caves.“
  • 1944-9-16 The Resistance leader Bep van Kooten arrives in Heerlen. „Paul“ lets him know, on his trip to Maastricht and Brussels he should not go by Valkenburg. This would be dangerous to life.

In the night of 1944-9-16 the Germans leave Valkenburg. (See also Liberation) „Paul“ contacts the liberators, as ordered by the Resistance. He will help them in any possible way. 1944-9-20 Bep van Kooten visits his comrade in arms „Paul“ and tells him, that the Resistance people come together in the "Koninklijke Stoottroepen" (Royal Stormtroopers) of the regular army and begs „Paul“, to support this action. „Paul“ proudly canvasses for it among the members of the L.O.

And so it happens:
Applications for registration are received, lists are drafted, checks executed, necessary information given, suitable accommodation and workshops are searched, a garage for transport and servicing is recommanded! Results of these actions are, among other buildings, the houses Philips and Oranjehof. The relations with the liberators were OK and exist untill today! (A friendship for life joined him with Bob Hillecue from Chicago, member of the „Old Hickory“ division, that liberated Valkenburg.)

Mrs Schunck, children and your families! The Resistance people and Stoottroepers gathered here wish, also in the name of those who cannot be present, to express their thankfulness towards „Paul“ Pierre Schunck:

  • for his active dedication to recover our liberty.
  • for his great commitment and sincere carefulness
  • for his e special chummy attitude
  • and all this with his devotion to God, queen and country!!.

Mrs Schunck, children and grandchildren, it hurts to say goodbye.
... the VERY MANY good memories will strengthen you!!
Resistance comrades and Stormtroopers, we say goodbye to a good comrade.
„Paul“ : may you rest in well-deserved peace !

Let's say goodbye in an honourable way by singing the Dutch National Anthem:
1. Wilhelmus van Nassouwe
6. Mijn schildt en mijn betrouwen

„Harry“, Theo Goossen

Menu text, no JavaScript Log in   Deze pagina in het Nederlands Diese Seite auf DeutschThis page in EnglishCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück

Abschied vom Widerständler „Paul“ Pierre Joseph Arnold Schunck,

Träger des Widerstandskreuzes

Nachruf von „Harry van Benthum “ (Theo Goossen), Heerlen
während der Eucharistiefeier um 11 Uhr in der Kirche der Hl.Familie in Schaesberg (Landgraaf, NL) am 6. Februar 1993.

 

 



Ansprache von Theo „Harry“ Goossen bei der Abschiedsfeier von „Paul“, Seite 1

An einem der ersten Septembertagen des Jahres 1943, bei der Gründung des L.O.-Kreises Heerlen, war anwesend ein gewisser Herr „Paul Simons". Dies geschah in der Wohnung des Rektors Prompens im St.-Jozef-Krankenhaus an der Putgraaf.
L.O. bedeutete: „Landelijke Organisatie“ und stand für Nationale Hilfe an „Untertaucher". Der L.O.-Distrikt, der anfangs unter dem Kürzel L18 lief, später unter Z18, umfasste, außer Maastricht und Umgebung, etwa ¾ des südlichen Niederländisch-Limburg.
Kaplan Giel Berix aus Heerlen, ein Freund von „Paul“ und Mitgründer der L.O. in Heerlen, wurde nach dem Rücktritt von Rektor Prompers aus triftigen Gründen und auf eigenem Wunsch, der Distriktleiter von Z18 (Er wurde am 21.6.1944 in Weert verhaftet und ist im KZ Bergen-Belsen gestorben). Der Distrikt Heerlen war in 9 Rayons (Kreise) unterteilt.
Der anwesende Herr „Paul“ wurde der Leiter des Rayon Valkenburg, dessen Widerstandsaktivitäten sich bis nach Gulpen und Maastricht hinein ausdehnten, während zu der Zeit auch Klimmen und Umgebung dem Rayon Valkenburg zugeschlagen worden waren.

Bei diversen geheimen Zusammenkünften und über die notwendige Zusammenarbeit lernte man sich besser kennen und es wurden, außer Nachnamen auch Familienangelegenheiten -einigermaßen- bekannt.
„Paul“ hieß mit Nachname Schunck, er wohnte in Valkenburg, hatte dort eine Wäscherei, in der auch seine Frau Gerda eine leitende Rolle spielte. Zu bestimmten Zeiten war „Paul“ in Heerlen auf der Ecke Kruisstraat-Geleenstraat anzutreffen, wo Kleidung produziert wurde.

Der Widerstand von „Paul“ Schunck richtete sich gegen

  • die verräterische Besetzung unseres Landes
  • die diktatorische Machtentfaltung, unter AUSSCHLUSS jeglicher Freiheit
  • das unmenschliche Vorgehen
  • das Ausschalten und Ausrotten von anders Denkenden.

Aber:

Sein Handeln richtete sich in der Hauptsache auf Hilfestellung an Menschen in Not:

  • An notleidende Familien, deren Mann-und-Vater hatte fliehen müssen, untergetaucht war, oder in einem Gefängnis bzw. in einem der grausamen KZs eingesperrt war.
  • Obdach und Tauchadressen organisieren für Flüchtlinge, für Juden, für abgestürzte alliierte Piloten, für gesuchte Widerständler, usw.
    Diese Menschen mussten alle mit Nahrung, Kleidung, Bezugskarten, Personalausweisen, Stammkarten, Marken usw. usw. versorgt werden,
  • Die Verwirklichung dieser Hilfe erforderte Organisation, Beratungen, intensive Zusammenarbeit usw, und das alles unauffällig und im Geheimen!

S. 2



Ansprache von Theo „Harry“ Goossen bei der Abschiedsfeier von „Paul“, Seite 2

Die eigenen geschäftlichen Aktivitäten von „Paul“ werden widerholt DURCH DIE NOTLAGE ANDERER unterbrochen. Die Situation erfordert: aufpassen, vorsichtig sein und unauffällig handeln. IMMER in der Hoffnung, der Gefahr (zwar verborgen, aber ständig gegenwärtig) ausweichen und möglichst entfliehen zu können. In dieser Atmosphäre muss man den mehr als 2 Jahre dauernden organisierten Widerstand von „Paul“ betrachten und beurteilen.
Dazu muss man noch erwähnen: er war einige Male in wirklicher Todesgefahr.

Selbst hat er gesagt: „Ich begreife es nicht. Ich kann es nicht erklären. Ich habe sehr viel Glück gehabt! Aber ich habe sehr viel gebetet!“. Und er ergänzt: „Ich habe dies alles nicht ALLEINE gemacht. Und ohne die tatkräftige Unterstützung meiner Frau wäre einiges total schiefgegangen“.

„Paul“ ist auch Mitarbeiter des Nachrichtendienstes ID18.

  • Am 6. Sept. 1944 lässt er wissen, dass Scheng Coenen und Jupp Francotte am 5. Sept. auf dem Cauberg erschossen worden sind und da noch liegen. Was jetzt?? Diese Hinrichtung ist für „Paul“ ein bleibendes Drama gewesen.
  • Am 15. September teilt er mit: „Die Deutschen haben die Göhlbrücken gesprengt, die Straßen gesperrt, Kanonen aufgestellt und wehren sich gegen die vorrückenden Amerikaner. Diverse Gebäude sind schwer beschädigt und diverse Häuser brennen. Ein großer Teil der Bevölkerung hat sich in die Grotten in Sicherheit gebracht."
  • Via Nachrichten von „Paul“ wird dem am 16. September in Heerlen eingetroffene Bepp van Kooten geraten, auf seiner Reise nach Maastricht und Brüssel nicht über Valkenburg zu fahren. Lebensgefährlich.

In der Nacht vom 16. auf den 17. September 1944: die Deutschen verlassen Valkenburg. „Paul“ nimmt Kontakt mit den Befreiern auf, wie ihm durch den Widerstand aufgetragen worden war. Er wird ihnen auf jede erdenkliche Weise behilflich sein. Am 20. September erscheint Bepp van Kooten bei seinem Widerstandskollege „Paul“ und teilt mit, dass die Widerständler sich in den „Koninklijke Stoottroepen“ (Königliche Stoßtruppen) der regulären Armee formieren und bittet „Paul“, dabei mitzuhelfen. Stolz wirbt „Paul“ dafür unter den L.O.-Mitgliedern.

Und so geschieht es:
Anmeldungen kommen herein, Listen werden erstellt, Kontrollen ausgeführt, notwendige Auskünfte erteilt, geeignete Unterkünfte und Werkstätten gesucht, eine Garage für Transport und Wartung empfohlen! Ergebnisse sind u.a. Haus Philips und Oranjehof. Die Beziehungen mit den Befreiern waren O.K. und bestehen bis zum heutigen Tage! (Eine Lebenslängliche Freundschaft verband ihn mit Bob Hillecue aus Chicago, Mitglied der „Old Hickory“ Division, die Valkenburg befreite.)

Frau Schunck, Kinder und Ihre Familien! Die hier anwesenden Widerständler und Stoottroeper wünschen, auch im Namen derer, die aus triftigen Gründen nicht anwesend sein können, ihre Dankbarkeit gegenüber „Paul“ Pierre Schunck zu äußern:

  • für seinen tatkräftigen Einsatz für die Wiedergewinnung der Freiheit.
  • für sein großes Engagement und aufrichtige Fürsorge
  • für seine besondere kameradschaftliche Haltung
  • und dies alles mit seinem Einsatz für Gott, Königin und Vaterland!!.

Frau Schunck, Kinder und Enkelkinder, sich verabschieden tut Weh.
... die SEHR VIELEN guten Erinnerungen werden Sie stärken!!
Widerstandskollegen und Stoottroeper, wir verabschieden uns von einem guten Kameraden.
„Paul“ : ruhe denn - in wohlverdientem Frieden!

Auf ehrende Weise nehmen wir Abschied und singen die Nationalhymne:
Strophe 1. Wilhelmus van Nassouwe
Strophe 6. Mijn schildt und mijn betrouwen

"Harry“ Goossen Th.