The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
 

The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg

previousbacknext

Gulpen

https://www.openstreetmap.org/relation/2721279#map=11/50.8031/5.8809

Chronologisch overzicht van de bevrijding van Nederlandse plaatsen in de Tweede Wereldoorlog


Liberated: 1944-09-13 – 1944-09-16

In the area of Gulpen and Simpelveld, the three Coenen brothers had set up an escape route for Allied soldiers who had escaped from captivity. They often were sent from the eastern coalfield by the group around Mingelers in Kerkrade or by Father Beatus van Beckhoven from Heerlen. The best known of the three was the printer and later subdistrict chief of the LO in Simpelveld, Sjeng Coenen. Originally, these refugees were mainly French and Walloons. They were brought to Belgium by the oldest brother, sexton P.J. Coenen from Banholt and Mheer, with the help of a group of passeurs in the border villages of Slenaken and Noorbeek.
These people trafficker were the border inspector E. Piek, the customs officer H. Evenboer, and Father J.H. Everts O.F.M. of the franciscan monastery of Hoogcruts near Slenaken, who was also in direct contact with his confrere Father Beatus. In Belgium, thanks to the Kusters family of Slenaken, they found a connection with three women from Jupille and Retinne near Liège. After Evenboer was replaced by A.F. Vermeulen, a police constable in Slenaken, the group also came into contact with Th. Brentjens, the gendarmerie commander in St. Maartensvoeren and thus with the Goffin section of Clarence. These were also in close contact with the Group Erkens. Fortunately, the people trafficker were not hit by the Hannibal game.

Gulpen – 1 pers.   ⇒All the fallen resistance people in Limburg
Penders,
Leo
∗ 1914-07-01
Voerendaal
† 1945-04-24
Bergen-Belsen
Gulpen - Voerendaal - L.O. - priest - Vicar Leon Marie Hubert Penders headed subdistrict 2 of the LO with the places Gulpen, Reymerstok and Wylré. (See map 45. Gulpen district: division into subdistricts. Cammaert VIb, p. 693) and determined the district’s financial policy from 12 January 1944. On July 21, 1944, Vicar Penders and J.H. Ortmans of Wahlwiller were arrested (Cammaert VI, p. 654) and shortly thereafter ten other leaders of the Gulpen district. This action would later become known as "Klap van Wittem" (Strike of Wittem).
wall: left, row 12-01

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg

voriges Bildbacknächstes Bild

Gulpen

https://www.openstreetmap.org/relation/2721279#map=11/50.8031/5.8809

Chronologisch overzicht van de bevrijding van Nederlandse plaatsen in de Tweede Wereldoorlog


Befreit: 1944-09-13 – 1944-09-16

In der Region Gulpen-Simpelveld hatten die drei Brüder Coenen einen Fluchtweg für alliierte Soldaten eingerichtet, die aus der Kriegsgefangenschaft geflohen waren. Sie kamen oft aus dem östlichen Kohlerevier über die Gruppe um Mingelers in Kerkrade oder Pater Beatus van Beckhoven aus Heerlen. Der bekannteste der drei war der Drucker und spätere Rayonchef der LO in Simpelveld, Sjeng Coenen. Ursprünglich waren diese Flüchtlinge hauptsächlich Franzosen und Wallonen. Sie wurden vom ältesten Bruder, Küster P.J. Coenen aus Banholt und Mheer, mit Hilfe einer Gruppe von Passeurs in den Grenzdörfern Slenaken und Noorbeek nach Belgien gebracht.
Die Schleuser waren der Grenzkontrolleur E. Piek, der Zöllner H. Evenboer und Pater J.H. Everts O.F.M. vom Kloster Highcruts bei Slenaken, der auch in direktem Kontakt mit seinem Mitbruder Pater Beatus stand. In Belgien fanden sie dank der Familie Kusters aus Slenaken eine Verbindung zu drei Frauen aus Jupille und Retinne bei Lüttich. Nachdem Evenboer durch A.F. Vermeulen, einen Wachtmeister der Marechaussee in Slenaken, ersetzt worden war, kam die Gruppe auch in Kontakt mit Th. Brentjens, Gendarmeriekommandant in St. Maartensvoeren und damit mit der Gruppe Goffin. Diese standen außerdem in intensivem Kontakt mit der Gruppe Erkens. Die Schleuser wurden zum Glück nicht vom Hannibalspiel getroffen.

Gulpen – 1 Pers.   ⇒Alle Gefallenen des Limburger Widerstandes
Penders,
Leo
∗ 1914-07-01
Voerendaal
† 1945-04-24
Bergen-Belsen
Gulpen - Voerendaal - L.O. - Geistlicher - Kaplan Leon Marie Hubert Penders leitete den Subdistrikt 2 der LO mit den Orten Gulpen, Reymerstok und Wylré. (Siehe Karte 45. Distrikt Gulpen: Unterteiling in Subdistrikte. Cammaert VIb, S. 693) und bestimmte ab dem 12. Januar 1944 die Finanzpolitik des Distrikts. Am 21. Juli 1944 wurden Kaplan Penders und J.H. Ortmans aus Wahlwiller verhaftet (Cammaert VI, S. 654) und kurz darauf zehn weitere Anführer aus dem Distrikt Gulpen. Diese Aktion sollte später als "Klap van Wittem" (Schlag von Wittem) bekannt werden.
Wand: links, Zeile 12-01