The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
 

The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg

previousbacknext

Wittem

Redemptoristenklooster_(Wittem)


Liberated: 1944-09-15

Father B.J. Baars, the head of the Wittem subdistrict of the LO, was the victim of an infiltration in the military hospital in his monastery by a German sergeant, a certain Lambertz from Aachen, who stated that he wanted to desert because he was such a good Christian. At first he was possibly even sincere about it. This infiltration was followed, on July 21, 1944, by a wave of arrests that would soon be called the “Strike of Wittem”: P. Horbach, H.J.D. Hamers, J.M.W. Bisschoff, Father Baars, J.H. van Houtem, Ortmans, the brothers E.A.H.M. and J.M.H. Merckelbach, the man in hiding G. Pirovano, the vicars P.H.H. Houben and L.M.H. Penders and two uninvolved inhabitants of Vaals. The vicars Wermeling and Franck as well as A. Noppeney escaped. J. Merckelbach and the two residents of Vaals were released after a few days. The others were transported from Maastricht to Vught on August 1 and five days later to Sachsenhausen, from where they were distributed among several camps. Only three of the ten prisoners survived the camps. The others died in Germany: H.J.D. Hamers (Oranienburg, 29-12-1944), J.M.W. Bisschoff (Buchenwald, 23-4-1945). B.J. Baars (Bergen-Belsen, 27-4-1945), J.H. van Houtem (Lübeck, 28-5-1945), L.M.H. Penders (Bergen-Belsen, 24-4-1945), P.H.H. Houben (Ludwigslust, 19-5-1945) and E.A.H.M. Merckelbach (Neuengamme, 15-1-1945).

  • Wittem – 5 pers.   ⇒All the fallen resistance people in Limburg
  • Baars,
    Bernhard J.
    Jacques
    ∗ 1913-10-20
    Rotterdam
    † 1945-04-27
    Bergen-Belsen
    Wittem - L.O. - Father B.J. Baars C.s.s.R. was subdistrict leader of the LO-Wittem, which belonged to the district of Gulpen. The district meetings took place alternately in the house of the Sisters of Charity in Gulpen, in the convent of the Redemptorist Fathers in Wittem and in the convent of the Franciscan Sisters in Nijswiller. He was arrested at the Strike of Wittem on 21 July 1944.
    wall: right, row 38-01
    Houben,
    Hubertus Petrus Hermanus
    Sjeng
    ∗ 1915-07-09
    Eys, gem. Wittem
    † 1945-05-19
    Ludwigslust
    Wittem - L.O. - priest - Hubertus Petrus Hermanus Houben was vicar in Epen and head of the Catholic Action. He administered charity funds in the L.O. district of Gulpen, along with the vicars Wermeling and Penders and with Jaques Knops and Sjeng Coenen, until Penders took it over alone. He was arrested at the Strike of Wittem on July 21, 1944. Shortly after his liberation, he died in Ludwigslust (Mecklenburg) as a result of his ordeal in the Neuengamme concentration camp. Buried in the Catholic cemetery in Eys.
    wall: right, row 39-05
    Houtem, van
    Johannes Hubertus
    Lange Sjeng
    ∗ 1917-06-16
    Mechelen
    † 1945-05-28
    Lübeck
    Wittem - L.O. - local contact - Sjeng van Houtem from Wylré was an auto mechanic an there local contact person between the people in hiding and the subdistrict of the L.O. (local contact: duikhoofd). He was arrested on July 21, 1944 at the Strike of Wittem and via Maastricht he was taken to Vught concentration camp. He later ended up in the Sachsenhausen concentration camp in Oranienburg. As the Russians got closer, the SS sent their prisoners further and further into Germany. These murderous journeys were not called death marches for nothing. He was freed by the Russians in the Wittstock forest.
    His condition was very bad at the time. On May 6, 1945, the Swedish Red Cross took him to an emergency hospital in Lübeck, which had been liberated by the British on May 2. He died there on the 28th. He was first buried in the "Vorwerker Friedhof" in Lübeck. Almost 3,000 dead from concentration camps, Germans, Dutch, Poles, Estonians, Latvians, Ukrainians and Russians lie in this cemetery. He was reburied in the Catholic cemetery of Wylré.
    wall: right, row 38-05
    Merckelbach /Merkelbach,
    Emilius Antonius Hubertus Maria
    Emile
    ∗ 1898-03-15
    Wittem
    † 1944-12-15
    Neuengamme
    Wittem - L.O. - Emile Merckelbach was a member of the Provinciale Staten (Provincial Parliament) of Limburg and chairman of the Coöperatieve Veilingvereeniging Kring Gulpen (Cooperative Auction Association for Agricultural Products, District of Gulpen). On July 21, 1944, he too was arrested as a member of the L.O. at the Klap van Wittem, in which the L.O. of the district of Gulpen was dealt a severe blow. His brother J.M.H. Merckelbach was also arrested, but was released after a few days.
    According to oorloggravenstichting.nl Emile died on December 15, 1944, according to Cammaert and vriendenkringneuengamme.nl on January 15, 1945.
    wall: right, row 38-02
    Wauthlé,
    Jozef
    ∗ 1923-07-15
    Mechelen (L)
    † 1944-11-27
    Brandenburg
    Wittem - Joseph Marie Hubertus Wauthlé was a lathe operator. Tried to escape to England, but was caught at the French-Swiss border. During forced labor he expressed his opinion too openly, as a result of which he was sentenced to death. In the German death certificate execution is given as the cause of death.
    Do you know more? Write us!
    wall: right, row 38-03

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg

voriges Bildbacknächstes Bild

Wittem

Redemptoristenklooster_(Wittem)


Befreit: 1944-09-15

Pater B.J Baars, der Leiter des Subdistriktes Wittem der LO, war im Lazarett seines Klosters das Opfer einer Infiltration durch einen deutschen Unteroffizier, einen gewissen Lambertz aus Aachen, der angab, er wolle desertieren, weil er ein so guter Christ sei. Anfangs war ihm das womöglich sogar ernst. Nach dieser Infiltration folgte am 21. Juli 1944 eine Verhaftungswelle, die bald als der „Schlag von Wittem“ bezeichnet werden sollte: P. Horbach, H.J.D. Hamers, J.M.W. Bisschoff, Pater Baars, J.H. van Houtem, Ortmans, die Brüder E.A.H.M. und J.M.H. Merckelbach, der Untergetauchte G. Pirovano, die Kapläne P.H.H. Houben und L.M.H. Penders und zwei unbeteiligte Einwohner von Vaals. Die Kapläne Wermeling und Franck sowie A. Noppeney entkamen. J. Merckelbach und die beiden Einwohner von Vaals wurden nach einigen Tagen wieder freigelassen. Die anderen wurden am 1. August von Maastricht nach Vught und fünf Tage später nach Sachsenhausen transportiert, von wo aus sie auf mehrere KZ’s verteilt wurden. Nur drei der zehn Häftlinge überlebten die Lager. Die anderen starben in Deutschland: H.J.D. Hamers (Oranienburg, 29-12-1944), J.M.W. Bisschoff (Buchenwald, 23-4-1945). B.J. Baars (Bergen-Belsen, 27-4-1945), J.H. van Houtem (Lübeck, 28-5-1945), L.M.H. Penders (Bergen-Belsen, 24-4-1945), P.H.H. Houben (Ludwigslust, 19-5-1945) en E.A.H.M. Merckelbach (Neuengamme, 15-1-1945).

Wittem – 5 Pers.   ⇒Alle Gefallenen des Limburger Widerstandes
Baars,
Bernhard J.
Jacques
∗ 1913-10-20
Rotterdam
† 1945-04-27
Bergen-Belsen
Wittem - L.O. - Pater B.J. Baars C.s.s.R. war Leiter des Subdistriktes (Rayonleider) der LO-Wittem, das zum Distrikt Gulpen gehörte. Die Distrikttreffen fanden abwechselnd im Haus der Schwestern der Liebe in Gulpen, im Kloster der Redemptoristen in Wittem und im Kloster der Franziskanerinnen in Nijswiller statt. Er wurde am 21. Juli 1944 beim Schlag von Wittem verhaftet.
Wand: rechts, Zeile 38-01
Houben,
Hubertus Petrus Hermanus
Sjeng
∗ 1915-07-09
Eys, gem. Wittem
† 1945-05-19
Ludwigslust
Wittem - L.O. - Geistlicher - Hubertus Petrus Hermanus Houben war Kaplan in Epen und Leiter der Katholischen Aktion. Er verwaltete im L.O.-Distrikt Gulpen, zusammen mit den Kaplänen Wermeling und Penders sowie Jaques Knops und Coenen die Gelder für Hilfszahlungen, bis Penders sie alleine übernahm. Er wurde am 21. Juli 1944 beim Schlag von Wittem verhaftet. Kurz nach seiner Befreiung starb er in Ludwigslust (Mecklenburg) an den Folgen der Strapazen im KZ Neuengamme. Beigesetzt auf dem katholischen Friedhof in Eys.
Wand: rechts, Zeile 39-05
Houtem, van
Johannes Hubertus
Lange Sjeng
∗ 1917-06-16
Mechelen
† 1945-05-28
Lübeck
Wittem - L.O. - lokale Kontaktperson - Sjeng van Houtem aus Wijlre / Wylré war Automechaniker und dort Kontaktperson zwischen den Untergetauchten und dem Subdistrikt Wylré der L.O. (duikhoofd). Er wurde am 21. Juli 1944 beim Schlag von Wittem festgenommen und über das Gefängnis in Maastricht in das Konzentrationslager Vught gebracht. Später landete er im KZ Sachsenhausen in Oranienburg. Als die Russen näher kamen, schickte die SS ihre Gefangenen immer weiter nach Deutschland. Diese mörderischen Reisen wurden nicht umsonst Todesmärsche genannt. Dabei wurde er von den Russen im Wald von Wittstock befreit.
Sein Zustand war damals sehr schlecht. Am 6. Mai 1945 wurde er über das Schwedische Rote Kreuz in ein Notkrankenhaus in Lübeck eingeliefert, das am 2. Mai von den Briten befreit worden war. Dort starb er am 28. Er wurde zunächst auf dem „Vorwerker Friedhof“ in Lübeck beigesetzt. Fast 3.000 Tote aus Konzentrationslagern, Deutsche, Niederländer, Polen, Esten, Letten, Ukrainer und Russen, ruhen auf diesem Friedhof. Er wurde auf dem katholischen Friedhof von Wylré neu begraben.
Wand: rechts, Zeile 38-05
Merckelbach /Merkelbach,
Emilius Antonius Hubertus Maria
Emile
∗ 1898-03-15
Wittem
† 1944-12-15
Neuengamme
Wittem - L.O. - Emile Merckelbach war Mitglied der Provinciale Staten (Provinzparlament) von Limburg und Vorsitzender der Coöperatieve Veilingvereeniging Kring Gulpen (Genossenschaftlicher Auktionsverein für Agrarprodukte, Kreis Gulpen). Beim Klap van Wittem am 21. Juli 1944 wurde auch er er als Mitglied der L.O. verhaftet. Die L.O. des Distrikts Gulpen wurde an diesem Tag schwer getroffen. Auch sein Bruder J.M.H. Merckelbach wurde verhaftet, aber kam nach einigen Tagen wieder frei.
Laut oorloggravenstichting.nl starb Emile am 15. Dezember 1944, laut Cammaert und vriendenkringneuengamme.nl am 15. Januar 1945.
Wand: rechts, Zeile 38-02
Wauthlé,
Jozef
∗ 1923-07-15
Mechelen (L)
† 1944-11-27
Brandenburg
Wittem - Joseph Marie Hubertus Wauthlé war Dreher. Versuchte nach England zu fliehen, wurde aber an der französisch-schweizerischen Grenze gefasst. Während der Zwangsarbeit äußerte er seine Meinung zu offen, woraufhin er zum Tode verurteilt wurde. In der deutschen Sterbeurkunde wird Hinrichtung als Todesursache angegeben.
Wissen Sie mehr? Schreiben Sie uns!
Wand: rechts, Zeile 38-03