The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
 

The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg

previousbacknext

Group Dresen

Group-Dresen
After his return from captivity, the 43-year-old professional NCO Pierre Dresen in Maastricht almost immediately began to establish contacts between former soldiers, of police and customs officers. Many former soldiers belonged to the latter two professional groups, because after the capitulation, the Germans gave them the choice of joining the "Opbouwdienst" (an organization founded on July 15, 1940, intended to offer employment to unemployed soldiers), border control or the police. This is how the customs officers Douwe Verhagen, Egbert Wolfs, Jan Schutrup and Dirk Hage joined the group. They worked in Maastricht at the Dutch side of checkpoint Caberg-Smeermaas to Belgium, at the end of the Brusselseweg.
Dresen also soon came into contact with civilians who would play an important role in the group: Roelf H.Bartels, the boatman Jean M. Duynkerke and the ship loader Hendrik Hendrik A.C. Meulensteen. Duynkerke usually transported cement in the Netherlands and abroad with his ship “Maria”. The home port of the “Maria” was the old port of Maastricht, the “Bassin”. Meulensteen, whose sons worked on barges, ran a small café for boatmen on the Franschensingel with his wife. The regulars’ table or the back room soon became the usual meeting place for the group.
Thus, a military-civilian resistance group was formed during 1941, which for a while was called the “RAF group” because of the planned help for downed Allied aircrews, although this had happened only rarely before. Their activities included collecting weapons and ammunition, committing sabotage, gathering military intelligence, helping escaped prisoners of war and other refugees, and distributing an underground newspaper, Oranje Post. They worked closely with other similar groups in southern Limburg.
The resistance group was betrayed by Isidoor Brandon, the Jewish (!) tenant and associate of Tom Engeln because of personal problems. Between December 1 and 12, 1941, twenty-three people from the group were arrested. Finally, on April 17, 1942, nineteen of them were tried. Pierre Dresen, Dirk Hage, and Bert Spierings were sentenced to death. Six others, including Hendrik Meulensteen, Roelf Bartels, Tom Engeln and Jan Duijnkerke were also transferred in Schutzhaft to the German concentration camp Neuengamme near Hamburg after Camp Amersfoort. (Source: Verzetsgroep Dresen/Hage at struikelsteentjes-maastricht.nl)
For a detailed report, see the biography of Tom Engeln
For more information, see Cammaert, Chapter II.
In Neuengamme were murdered:

Gerrit Spierings and Jan Schutrup were also taken into Schutzhaft but survived the Nacht und Nebel camp Natzweiler. The other detainees were released on 20 October 1942 in Utrecht. The unarrested remnants of the resistance group went to the network Bongaerts.
More info at Fred Cammaert – Het verborgen front (The Hidden Front), chapter II, beginning on p. 95 and Bijlage I: Arrestaties in Limburg i.v.m. betrokkenheid bij de groep-Erkens (Appendix I: Arrests in Limburg in connection with participation in the Erkens group), p. 115.

The Belasting Groep Maastricht (Tax Office Group M.), founded by tax official M.C.M.H. Bartels (not to be confused with Roelf Bartels!), P. J. Sijmons and Derk van Assen was another continuation of the busted group Dresen.
“Apart from the L.O. and the associated combat groups, the B.G.M. was – as far as Limburg was concerned – without doubt the organization with the most connections, both in the Netherlands and abroad. The B.G.M. leadership implemented a certain division of labor, although it was not sharply demarcated. The leaders formed small groups, each covering a specific area.” (Cammaert 4.IX. De Belastinggroep Maastricht: de groep-Blok, p. 335). In Belgium, this procedure was called cloisonnement. They brought escaped prisoners of war to Belgium mainly via the border crossing near Caberg but also through the underground labyrinth of the St. Pietersberg. They worked to assist those in hiding (the so-called divers), maintained contact with and supported the political prisoners in the jail of Maastricht. This task was soon expanded. Each member worked individually and had their own responsibilities, there was mutual agreement on the various activities. (Cammaert VIb, page 644, unfortunately without translation.)
In the course of 1943, the regional leadership of the L.O., tried to gather the existing resistance groups, also in Maastricht. The B.G.M. was approached as well. For camouflage reasons they did not call themselves this way anymore and spoke rather of the group "Versleijen", "Sjeng" or "Blok". The L.O. people stubbornly continued to call them "Belastinggroep" (tax office group), which caused bad blood with the group "Versleijen". They preferred to remain independent. Collaboration was not rejected out of hand, since the group "Versleijen" benefited from a good contact with the LO. In this way, for example, distribution coupons could be obtained. After a while Hovens represented the group in the L.O. district council of Maastricht. (Cammaert VIb, p. 647)
By the way, do you already know the translator Deepl.com for all the parts of this site and all these links that are not translated?

Group Dresen – 11 pers.   ⇒All the fallen resistance people in Limburg
Bartels,
Roelf H.
∗ 1868-09-25
Groningen
† 1942-12-14
KZ Neuengamme
Maastricht - press - Group Dresen - Factory owner, co-founder of the Dresen Group. Bartels and his wife Maria, 36 years his junior, had two stores in Maastricht, one in Heggenstraat and one in St. Maartenslaan. Captain in the reserve of the Dutch army. Despite his advanced age, Bartels joined the resistance. In his Tricotage house in the Heggenstraat, he housed sixty escaped Belgian prisoners of war who were then smuggled across the border. Bartels was also one of the key figures in the publication and production of the resistance newspaper Oranje Post. The first issue contained, among other things, the Guidelines for Good Dutch people that he had written. The resistance group was betrayed from within. More on this at Group Dresen. On December 12, 1941, the SiPo arrested Bartels. The resistance fighter ended up in the Neuengamme concentration camp. He died there a little more than a year after his arrest.At that time he was 74 years old.
Further information (pdf) (pdf)
Arrested according to mestreechonline.nl on Nov. 2, 1941, according to Cammaert chap. II, p. 117 on Dec. 12, 1941.
wall: left, row 30-01
Cahn,
David Leo
∗ 1923-12-07
Maastricht
† 1942-08-14
Auschwitz
This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel. - Maastricht - Jew - early resistance - Group Dresen - Jewish butcher’s son, residing at Lenculenstraat 9 in Maastricht. He belonged to the civilian branch of the Dresen group, which was mainly engaged in the distribution of illegal leaflets and writings. For example, to finance the purchase of weapons, pictures of the royal family were sold. On May 21, 1941, David Leo was arrested by the SiPo Maastricht because signs "Verboden voor Joden" (Forbidden for Jews) had been destroyed in the city park. A stumbling stone was placed in the sidewalk in front of Lenculenstraat 9.
This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.04-07
Dresen,
Pierre
∗ 1897-02-07
Maastricht
† 1942-12-01
Neuengamme
Maastricht - early resistance - Group Dresen - Resident of Maastricht, demobilized professional soldier, temporary cashier of the distribution service, founder of the Dresen group, which initially also called itself the RAF group. (Cammaert hoofdstuk II-II. De groep-Dresen, from p. 94). See also Mestreech online.
He was a brother of Alf Dresen
wall: left, row 31-01
Droitcourt,
Guido
Kamiel
∗ 1915-09-27
Berlin-Pankow
† 1943-02-11
Hauptlager Neuengamme
Geulle - press - Group Dresen - Kamiel Michel Josef Guido had a German mother and a French father and was born in Berlin. At the age of 20 he came to Geulle with his mother, her husband and his half-brother. In July 1941 the first Allied plane was shot down at Geulle. One crew member came to Guido Droitcourt, but then fell into German hands. Guido joined the resistance group around Pierre Dresen. A year after the German invasion, he helped produce a first leaflet. On November 1, 1941, the first copy of the Oranje Koerier ran off the spirit duplicator with an edition of 175. (Cammaert Chapter II-II. De groep-Dresen, pp. 95-107) Arrested on Dec. 1, 1941.
See his data on the Neuengamme page: The Dead 1940-1945 There he is named: Kamill Michel Josef Guido
There is a Stolperstein (stumbling stone) for him at Heirweg 2, Geulle.
wall: middel, row 04-02
Duijnkerke /Duin… /Duyn…,
Jan M.
∗ 1902-10-25
Yerseke
† 1943-03-04
Neuengamme
Maastricht - early resistance - Group Dresen - The barge master J.M. Duynkerke usually transported cement in the Netherlands and abroad with his boat Maria, but also refugees. The home port of the Maria was the old harbor of Maastricht, the Bassin. Arrested 09-12-1941.
wall: left, row 31-02
Engeln,
Paulus Anthonius
Tom
∗ 1902-01-30
Purmerend
† 1945-04-27
KZ Ebensee
Maastricht - early resistance - press - Group Dresen - Paulus Anthonius (Tom) Engeln, a shopkeeper and leather goods manufacturer living in Maastricht, was of German descent and divorced from a German wife, Betsy Wanger, with whom he had three children. In 1942 they were 4, 7 and 12 years old. In the back room of his shop, he printed the illegal newspapers “Vrij Nederland” and the “Oranje Post,” which were distributed through the Dresen group. He sheltered the Amsterdam Jew Isidoor Brandon, who also became his business partner, and Brandon’s girlfriend Cor Meijer. Brandon owed him money and was also afraid for his own safety. For this reason, he and Meijer betrayed Tom and the entire Dresen group. On Friday, November 28, 1941, he and several others were arrested. In the following days, almost the entire Dresen/Hage resistance group, twenty-three resisters, were arrested. The three most important members of the “Oranje Koerier” group, Pierre Dresen, Dirk Hage and Gerrit Spierings, were sentenced to death. Tom and eight others were sent to various camps such as Buchenwald and the "Nacht und Nebel" camp of Natzweiler-Struthof (Alsace) and eventually to the Ebensee concentration camp, where he finally died of exhaustion in the infirmary on April 27, 1945, a week before the camp was liberated. He was 43 years old then.
There is a stumbling stone in front of the house Bredestraat 37, Maastricht
Detailed account in the biography of Tom Engeln. This is a translation of the biography of Tom Engeln at struikelsteentjes-maastricht.nl.
wall: middel, row 14-02
Hage,
Dirk
∗ 1909-02-17
Dreischor
† 1943-04-03
Neuengamme
Maastricht - early resistance - press - Group Dresen - After his demobilization as a soldier in 1940, Dirk Izak Hage became a customs officer with the rank of hulpkommies and found some like-minded people in the Caberg (Maastricht) customs office. He was to play such an important role in the Dresen group that it is also called the Dresen-Hage group. He bought through L.F.R. Spierings from Rekem (Belgium) a spirit duplicator by means of which leaflets were produced. Initially, the device switched between Dresen, Hage and Bartels, after that it stood in the presbytery in Geulle at Droitcourt. Hage took the lead in setting up a Maastricht version of the "Oranje Post," a clandestine information bulletin.
He is listed on the memorial in the State Tax Office in Maastricht (see link).
wall: middel, row 15-01
Lemson,
Henk
∗ 1924-04-15
Maastricht
† 1945-04-07
Makkum
Maastricht - early resistance - K.P. - Group Dresen - person in hiding - Hendrik Th. Lemson was a tax official (direct taxes, Maastricht) and belonged to the so called Belastinggroep Maastricht (A resistance group of mainly tax officials who continued the work of Group Dresen after it had been busted). He had to go into hiding and did so in Makkum (Frisia), where he joined the combat unit KP-Sneek, group III. Arrested in a major raid as a result of betrayal by Dutch SiPo V-men Jan Harm Brouwer and Matthijs Adolf Ridderhof. He was executed behind the then police station of Makkum. His name is on the resistance memorial in Makkum along with those of five other executed resistance fighters. Five people of the KnokPloeg, which by then had become part of the Binnenlandse Strijdkrachten (Domestic Forces): Bob Dijkstra (BS), Sjoerd Adema (BS), Koos Keller (BS), Henk Lemson (BS), Jan Emmens (BS), as well as the hospitable cattle farmer Fetze Elgersma of the LO. as well as the hider Herman Falkena. Buried in Makkum.
Memorial in the tax office of Maastricht.
wall: left, row 32-04
Meulensteen,
Hendrik A.C.
∗ 1886-03-28
Dinther
† 1943-02-05
Neuengamme
Maastricht - early resistance - Group Dresen - Shipping agent. His sons sailed on a barge. He and his wife ran her parents’ boatmen’s pub at Franschensingel. The regulars’ table or the back room soon became a regular meeting place for the Group Dresen. Of course, Meulensteen knew reliable boatsmen for clandestine cargo to Belgium. In and around the house he hid weapons and explosives stolen from the ENCI limestone open pit. Meulensteen also gathered military intelligence.
Source and further information: Biography on struikelsteentjes-maastricht.nl (pdf)
Arrested on December 2, 1941 as a result of betrayal by Tom Engeln’s companion. For more details see there.
Stolperstein (stumbling stone) in front of the house Fransensingel 65
See also Cammaert, Chapter II, §II: The Dresen Group).
wall: left, row 34-02
Verhagen,
Douwe
∗ 1917-10-08
Assen
† 1943-01-04
Neuengamme
Maastricht - early resistance - Group Dresen - Douwe Verhagen was a professional sergeant in May 1940 at the enclosure dam, where the Dutch defenders defied the invading troops of Nazi Germany the longest. From the summer of 1940, he worked at the Caberg (Maastricht) border checkpoint. There was a decidedly anti-German mood. He was arrested on December 2, 1941.
wall: left, row 37-01
Wolf,
Egbert
∗ 1917-09-07
Maastricht
† 1942-12-04
Neuengamme
Maastricht - early resistance - Group Dresen - Customs officer, working at the Maastricht-Caberg border office. A strong anti-German mood prevailed there. He belonged to the RAF group, arrested 1 or 2 December 1941. (Cammaert hoofdstuk II, p. 96) Stumblestone or stolperstein Schildersplein 13, Maastricht
Monument in the Maastricht tax office
wall: left, row 36-05

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg

voriges Bildbacknächstes Bild

Gruppe Dresen

Gruppe-Dresen
Fast sofort nach seiner Rückkehr aus der Kriegsgefangenschaft begann der 43-jährige Berufsunteroffizier Pierre M.J. Dresen in Maastricht damit, Kontakte zwischen ehemaligen Soldaten, Polizisten und Zollbeamten zu knüpfen. Viele ehemalige Soldaten gehörten zu den beiden letztgenannten Berufsgruppen, denn nach der Kapitulation sollten sie sich zwischen dem Opbouwdienst (eine am 15. Juli 1940 gegründete Organisation, die arbeitslose Soldaten beschäftigen sollte), dem Grenzschutz und der Polizei entscheiden. So schlossen sich die Zollbeamten Douwe Verhagen, Egbert Wolfs, Jan Schutrup und Dirk Hage der Gruppe an. Sie arbeiteten am Maastrichter Grenzübergang Caberg-Smeermaas nach Belgien, am Ende des Brusselseweg.
Dresen kam auch bald in Kontakt mit Zivilisten, die eine wichtige Rolle in der Gruppe spielen sollten: Roelf H.Bartels, Binnenschiffer Jean M. Duynkerke und dem Schiffsbefrachter Hendrik A.C. Meulensteen. Duynkerke transportierte mit seinem Schiff Maria gewöhnlich Zement im In- und Ausland. Der Heimathafen der Maria war der alte Hafen, der Bassin in Maastricht. Meulensteen, dessen Söhne auf einem Binnenschiff fuhren, betrieb mit seiner Frau eine Schifferkneipe am Franschensingel. Der Stammtisch oder das Hinterzimmer wurde bald zum regelmäßigen Treffpunkt der Gruppe. (Cammaert Kapitel II, p. 95).
Im Laufe des Jahres 1941 bildete sich so eine militärisch-zivile Widerstandsgruppe, die sich wegen der Hilfe für abgeschossene alliierte Flugzeugbesatzungen eine Zeit lang "RAF-Gruppe" nannte, obwohl das erst später losging. Zu den Aktivitäten gehörten das Sammeln von Waffen und Munition, das Verüben von Sabotage, militärische Spionage, die Unterstützung von geflohenen Kriegsgefangenen und anderen Flüchtlingen sowie die Verteilung von vebotenen Drucksachen, wie eines Blättchens namens Oranje Post. Sie arbeiteten eng zusammen mit den anderen, ähnlichen Gruppen in Südlimburg.
Die Widerstandsgruppe wurde wegen persönlicher Probleme zwischen Tom Engeln und Isidoor Brandon, seinem jüdischen (!) Mieter und Kompagnon, verraten. Zwischen dem 1. und 12. Dezember 1941 wurden dreiundzwanzig Personen der Gruppe verhaftet. Neunzehn von ihnen wurden schließlich am 17. April 1942 vor Gericht gestellt. Über Pierre Dresen, Dirk Hage und Bert Spierings wurde die Todesstrafe verhängt. Auch sechs andere, darunter Hendrik Meulensteen, Roelf Bartels, Tom Engeln und Jan Duijnkerke, wurden nach dem Lager Amersfoort in Schutzhaft in das deutsche Konzentrationslager Neuengamme bei Hamburg gebracht. (Quelle: Verzetsgroep Dresen/Hage bei struikelsteentjes-maastricht.nl)
Ausführlicher Bericht auch in der Biografie von Tom Engeln. Das ist eine Übersetzung der Biografie von Tom Engeln bei struikelsteentjes-maastricht.nl.
In Neuengamme wurden ermordet:

Auch Gerrit Spierings und Jan Schutrup wurden in ‘Schutzhaft’ genommen, überlebten aber das Nacht- und Nebellager Natzweiler. Die anderen Häftlinge wurden am 20. Oktober 1942 in Utrecht entlassen. Die nicht festgenommenen Überreste der Widerstandsgruppe traten dem Netzwerk Bongaerts bei.
Weitere Informationen bei Cammaert, Kap. II, S. 79 ff. und in der Bijlage I, Arrestaties in Limburg i.v.m. betrokkenheid bij de Gruppe-Erkens (Anhang I, Verhaftungen in Limburg im Zusammenhang mit der Beteiligung an der Gruppe-Erkens), Cammaert Kapitel II, S. 115.

Die Belasting Groep Maastricht (Finanzamtgruppe M.), gegründet vom Steuerbeamten M.C.M.H. Bartels (nicht zu verwechseln mit Roelf Bartels!), P.J. Sijmons und Derk van Assen war ebenfalls eine Fortsetzung der aufgeflogenen Gruppe Dresen.
„Außer der L.O. (und den mit ihr verbundenen Kampfgruppen) war die B.G.M., was Limburg anging, zweifellos die Organisation mit den meisten Verbindungen im In- und Ausland. Die B.G.M.-Führung führte eine gewisse Arbeitsteilung ein, die jedoch nicht sehr scharf abgerenzt war. Die Leiter bildeten kleine Gruppen, die jeweils einen bestimmten Bereich abdeckten.” (Cammaert 4.IX. De Belastinggroep Maastricht: de groep-Blok, p. 335). In Belgien wurde dieses Verfahren cloisonnement (interne Abschottung) genannt. Die Gruppe schmuggelte entflohene Kriegsgefangene nach Belgien (besonders über den Grenzübergang bei Caberg und teilweise durch den unterirdischen Labyrint des St. Pietersbergs), sie setzte sich für die Unterstützung von Untergetauchten ein, hielt Kontakt zu den politischen Gefangenen in der Maastrichter Haftanstalt und unterstützte sie. Diese Aufgabe wurde bald erweitert. Jedes Mitglied arbeitete individuell und hatte seine eigene Verantwortung, es gab eine gegenseitige Abstimmung über die verschiedenen Aktivitäten. (Cammaert VIb, Seite 644)
Im Laufe des Jahres 1943 versuchte die Provinzleitung der L.O., auch in Maastricht, die bestehenden Widerstandsgruppen zu bündeln. Dazu wurde auch die B.G.M. kontaktiert. Aus Tarnungsgründen nannten die sich nicht mehr so und sprachen über sich von der Gruppe „Versleijen“, „Sjeng“ oder „Blok“. Die L.O. nannte die Gruppe hartnäckig weiterhin „Belastinggroep“, was zu bösem Blut mit der Gruppe „Versleijen“ führte. Sie zogen es vor, unabhängig zu bleiben. Die Zusammenarbeit wurde nicht von vornherein abgelehnt, da die Gruppe „Versleijen“ von einem guten Kontakt mit dem LO profitierte. Auf diese Weise könnten sie zum Beispiel Lebensmittelgutscheine bekommen. Später vertrat Hovens die Gruppe im Maastrichter L.O. Distriktsrat. (Cammaert VIb, p. 647)
Leider ohne Übersetzung. Übrigens, kennen Sie schon den Übersetzer Deepl.com?

Gruppe Dresen – 11 Pers.   ⇒Alle Gefallenen des Limburger Widerstandes
Bartels,
Roelf H.
∗ 1868-09-25
Groningen
† 1942-12-14
KZ Neuengamme
Maastricht - Presse - Gruppe Dresen - Fabrikbesitzer, Mitbegünder der Gruppe Dresen. Bartels und seine 36 Jahre jüngere Frau Maria hatten zwei Geschäfte in Maastricht, eines in der Heggenstraat und eines in der St. Maartenslaan. Hauptmann der Reserve der niederländischen Armee. Trotz seines fortgeschrittenen Alters schloss sich Bartels dem Widerstand an. In seinem Tricotage-Haus in der Heggenstraat beherbergte er sechzig entkommene belgische Kriegsgefangene, die dann über die Grenze geschmuggelt wurden. Bartels war auch eine der Schlüsselfiguren bei der Herausgabe und Produktion der Widerstandszeitung Oranje Post. Die erste Ausgabe enthält u.a. die von ihm verfassten Leitlinien für gute Niederländer. Die Widerstandsgruppe wurde von innen heraus verraten. Mehr dazu bei der Gruppe Dresen. Am 12. Dezember 1941 verhaftete die SiPo Bartels. Der Widerstandskämpfer landet im Konzentrationslager Neuengamme. Dort starb er etwas mehr als ein Jahr nach seiner Verhaftung. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war er 74 Jahre alt.
Weitere Informationen (pdf) (pdf)
Verhaftet laut mestreechonline.nl am 2-11-1941, laut Cammaert hoofdstuk II, S. 117 am 12. Dezember 1941.
Wand: links, Zeile 30-01
Cahn,
David Leo
∗ 1923-12-07
Maastricht
† 1942-08-14
Auschwitz
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet. - Maastricht - Jude*in - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Dresen - Jüdischer Metzgerssohn, wohnhaft in der Lenculenstraat 9 in Maastricht. Er gehörte dem zivilen Zweig der Gruppe Dresen an, die sich hauptsächlich mit der Verbreitung illegaler Flugblätter und Schriften befasste. Um beispielsweise den Kauf von Waffen zu finanzieren, wurden Bilder des Königshauses verkauft. Am 21. Mai 1941 wurde David Leo von der SiPo Maastricht verhaftet, im Zusammenhang mit der Zerstörung von Schildern „Verboden voor Joden“ (Verboten für Juden) im Stadtpark. In den Bürgersteig vor der Lenculenstraat 9 wurde ein Stolperstein eingesetzt.
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.04-06
Dresen,
Pierre
∗ 1897-02-07
Maastricht
† 1942-12-01
Neuengamme
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Dresen - Wohnhaft in Maastricht, demobilisierter Berufssoldat, vorübergehend Kassierer des Verteilungsdienstes, Gründer der Gruppe Dresen, die sich anfänglich auch RAF-Gruppe nannte. (Cammaert hoofdstuk II-II. De groep-Dresen, ab S. 94). Siehe auch Mestreech online.
Er war ein Bruder von Alf Dresen
Wand: links, Zeile 31-01
Droitcourt,
Guido
Kamiel
∗ 1915-09-27
Berlin-Pankow
† 1943-02-11
Hauptlager Neuengamme
Geulle - Presse - Gruppe Dresen - Kamiel Michel Josef Guido Droitcourt hatte eine deutsche Mutter und einen französischen Vater und wurde in Berlin geboren. Im Alter von 20 Jahren kam er mit seiner Mutter, ihrem Mann und seinem Halbbruder nach Geulle. Im Juli 1941 wurde bei Geulle das erste alliierte Flugzeug abgeschossen. Ein Besatzungsmitglied kam zu Guido Droitcourt, fiel dann aber doch in deutsche Hände. Guido schloss sich der Widerstandsgruppe rund Pierre Dresen an. Ein Jahr nach dem deutschen Einmarsch half er bei der Erstellung eines ersten Flugblatts. Am 1. November 1941 lief das erste Exemplar der Oranje Koerier mit einer Auflage von 175 Stück aus dem Matrizendrucker. (Cammaert Kapitel II-II. De groep-Dresen, S. 95-107) Verhaftet am 01-12-1941.
Siehe seine Daten auf der Seite von Neuengamme: Die Toten 1940-1945 Dort wird er genannt: Kamill Michel Josef Guido
Es gibt einen Stolperstein für ihn am Heirweg 2, Geulle.
Wand: mittel, Zeile 04-02
Duijnkerke /Duin… /Duyn…,
Jan M.
∗ 1902-10-25
Yerseke
† 1943-03-04
Neuengamme
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Dresen - Der Binnenschiffer J.M. Duynkerke transportierte mit seinem Schiff Maria meist Zement im In- und Ausland, aber auch Flüchtlinge. Der Heimathafen der Maria war der alte Hafen von Maastricht, der Bassin. Verhaftet am 09-12-1941.
Wand: links, Zeile 31-02
Engeln,
Paulus Anthonius
Tom
∗ 1902-01-30
Purmerend
† 1945-04-27
KZ Ebensee
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - Presse - Gruppe Dresen - Paulus Anthonius (Tom) Engeln, ein in Maastricht lebender Ladenbesitzer und Lederwarenfabrikant, war deutscher Abstammung und von einer deutschen Frau, Betsy Wanger, geschieden, mit der er drei Kinder hatte. Im Jahr 1942 waren sie 4, 7 und 12 Jahre alt. Im Hinterzimmer seines Unternehmens druckte er die illegalen Zeitungen „Vrij Nederland“ und die „Oranje Post“, die über die Gruppe Dresen verteilt wurden. Er beherbergte den Amsterdamer Juden Isidoor Brandon, der auch sein Geschäftspartner wurde, und dessen Freundin Cor Meijer. Brandon schuldete ihm Geld und hatte auch Angst um seine eigene Sicherheit. Aus diesem Grund haben er und Meijer Tom und die gesamte Gruppe Dresen verraten. Am Freitag, dem 28. November 1941, wurden er und mehrere andere verhaftet. In den folgenden Tagen wurde fast die gesamte Widerstandsgruppe Dresen/Hage, dreiundzwanzig Widerständler, verhaftet. Die drei wichtigsten Mitglieder der Gruppe „Oranje Koerier“, Pierre Dresen, Dirk Hage und Gerrit Spierings, wurden zum Tode verurteilt. Tom und acht andere wurden in verschiedenen Lagern wie Buchenwald und dem "Nacht- und Nebel" Lager von Natzweiler-Struthof (Elsass) schließlich in das KZ Kommando Ebensee, wo er schließlich am 27. April 1945, eine Woche vor der Befreiung des Lagers, im Krankenrevier an Erschöpfung starb. Er war da 43 Jahre alt.
Es gibt einen Stolperstein vor dem Haus Bredestraat 37, MaastrichtAusführlicher Bericht in der Biografie von Tom Engeln. Das ist eine Übersetzung der Biografie von Tom Engeln bei struikelsteentjes-maastricht.nl.
Wand: mittel, Zeile 14-02
Hage,
Dirk
∗ 1909-02-17
Dreischor
† 1943-04-03
Neuengamme
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - Presse - Gruppe Dresen - Nach seiner Demobilisierung als Soldat 1940 wurde Dirk Izak Hage Zollbeamter im Rang eines Hulpkommies und fand im Zollamt Caberg (Maastricht) einige Gleichgesinnte. Er sollte eine so wichtige Rolle in der Gruppe Dresen spielen, dass sie auch die Gruppe Dresen-Hage genannt wird. Er kaufte über L.F.R. Spierings aus Rekem (Belgien) eine Vervielfältigungsmaschine, auf der Flugblätter hergestellt wurden. Anfänglich wechselte das Gerät zwischen Dresen, Hage und Bartels, danach stand es im Pfarrhaus in Geulle bei Droitcourt. Hage war federführend beim Aufbau einer Maastrichter Version der „Oranje Post“, eines heimlichen Informationsblättchens.
Er ist am Denkmal im Staatlichen Finanzamt in Maastricht aufgeführt (siehe Link).
Wand: mittel, Zeile 15-01
Lemson,
Henk
∗ 1924-04-15
Maastricht
† 1945-04-07
Makkum
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - K.P. - Gruppe Dresen - Untergetaucht - Hendrik Th. Lemson war Beamter für direkte Steuern und gehörte zur Belastinggroep Maastricht (Steuergruppe M., die die Arbeit der Gruppe Dresen nach deren Zerschlagung fortsetzte). Er musste untertauchen und tat das in Makkum (Friesland), wo er sich der Kampfgruppe KP-Sneek, Gruppe III, anschloss. Verhaftet bei einer Großrazzia als Folge des Verrats durch die niederländischen V-Männer der SiPo Jan Harm Brouwer und Matthijs Adolf Ridderhof. Er wurde hinter der damaligen Kaserne der Militärpolizei hingerichtet. Sein Name steht auf dem Widerstandsdenkmal in Makkum zusammen mit denen von fünf anderen hingerichteten Widerstandskämpfern. Fünf Personen der KnokPloeg, die inzwischen Teil der Binnenlandse Strijdkrachten (Inlands Streitkräfte) war: Bob Dijkstra (BS), Sjoerd Adema (BS), Koos Keller (BS), Henk Lemson (BS), Jan Emmens (BS), sowie der gastfreundliche Viehhalter Fetze Elgersma von der LO und ein weiterer seiner Untertaucher: Herman Falkena. Beerdigt in Makkum.
Denkmal im Finanzamt von Maastricht
Wand: links, Zeile 32-04
Meulensteen,
Hendrik A.C.
∗ 1886-03-28
Dinther
† 1943-02-05
Neuengamme
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Dresen - Schiffsbefrachter. Seine Söhne fuhren auf einem Binnenschiff. Zusammen mit seiner Frau betrieb er die Schifferkneipe ihrer Eltern am Franschensingel. Der Stammtisch oder das Hinterzimmer wurde bald zum regelmäßigen Treffpunkt der Gruppe Dresen. Natürlich kannte Meulensteen verlässliche Schiffer für heimliche Fracht nach Belgien. In und um das Haus versteckte er Waffen und Sprengstoff, die aus dem ENCI-Kalksteintagebau gestohlen waren. Meulensteen sammelte auch militärische Informationen.
Quelle und weitere Informationen: Biografie auf struikelsteen-maastricht.nl (pdf)
Am 2. Dezember 1941 als Folge des Verrats durch den Kompagnon von Tom Engeln verhaftet. Für weitere Einzelheiten siehe dort.
Stolperstein vor dem Haus Fransensingel 65
Siehe auch Cammaert, Kapitel II, §II: Die Gruppe Dresen).
Wand: links, Zeile 34-02
Verhagen,
Douwe
∗ 1917-10-08
Assen
† 1943-01-04
Neuengamme
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Dresen - Douwe Verhagen war im Mai 1940 Berufsunteroffizier am Abschlussdeich, wo die niederländischen Verteidiger den einmarschierenden Truppen von Nazi-Deutschland am längsten getrotzt haben. Ab Sommer 1940 arbeitete er an der Grenzübergangsstelle Caberg (Maastricht). Es herrschte dort eine ausgesprochen antideutsche Stimmung. Er wurde am 2. Dezember 1941 verhaftet.
Wand: links, Zeile 37-01
Wolf,
Egbert
∗ 1917-09-07
Maastricht
† 1942-12-04
Neuengamme
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Dresen - Zöllner, tätig an der Grenzübergangsstelle Maastricht-Caberg). Es herrschte dort eine starke antideutsche Stimmung. Er gehörte zur RAF-Gruppe und wurde am 1. oder 2. Dezember 1941 verhaftet.(Cammaert hoofdstuk II, S. 96) Stolpersteine Schildersplein 13, Maastricht
Denkmal im Finanzamt Maastricht.
Wand: links, Zeile 36-05