The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêstopback
 

The fallen resistance fighters in the dutch province of Limburg

Groep Erkens


Monument Rhijnauwen,
Wikimedia

Group Erkens When the Germans occupied the Netherlands, Niek Erkens was assigned to the army’s logistic department in Rotterdam and was ordered to make an inventory of the entire stock there before his release. He and his comrades did this by making substantial amounts of weapons, ammunition, and other material disappear.In September 1941, due to "talkativeness", dozens of people were arrested, also from the logistic department, and so the need arose to make people disappear as well. This was the beginning of the Erkens group. The latter came from Maastricht and was an excellent networker. Through his network, he came into contact with groups of other ex-soldiers in South Limburg such as Pierre Dresen, Charles Bongaerts and Sjef Smit. Pierre Dresen made contact with the resistance group in the border town of Eijsden, which had formed around fruit farmer Alphons Smeets and his landlord, count Raphael de Liedekerke. This new Erkens group worked closely with the Belgian groups Luc /Marc and Clarence. Read more about how they became victims of infiltration: the Hannibal game.Meer informatie bij Cammaert, chapter II, p. 79 e.v.
Unfortunately without translation. By the way, do you already know the translator Deepl.com?

Groep Erkens – 11 pers.   ⇒All the fallen resistance people in Limburg
Dresen,
Alf(ons)
∗ 1885-10-18
Luik
† 1944-01-05
Fort Rhijnauwen, Bunnik
Maastricht - early resistance - Group Erkens - Alphonse Henri Louis Dresen was chief dispatcher in Maastricht at the Dutch Railway Company and as such he knew everything about train movements in his area. Married, belonged to the resistance group Erkens-De Liedekerke, arrested in July 1942, executed on 5.1.1944 in Bunnik near Utrecht. Buried in Maastricht.
He was a brother of Pierre Dresenwall: left, row 30-04
Erkens,
Niek /Nic
Van der Maas/ Niek
∗ 1894-10-10
Maastricht
† 1943-10-09
Fort Rhijnauwen (prov. Utrecht
Maastricht - Sittard - early resistance - Group Erkens - Nicolaas Egidius Erkens was married to a Liège woman, he spoke French well and was an organizer of cross-border resistance to Belgium, especially with regard to smuggling refugees (Group Erkens). Cammaert writes (Chapter II, p.85 and 87), that he had two sisters in Sittard, with whom he was in hiding for a while and where he was arrested on November 11, 1942. This was the result of the Hannibalspiel, an infiltration by the Marineabwehr in Groningen.wall: right, row 18-03
Goffin,
Jules G.H.J.
∗ 1897-03-31
Noville-les-Bois
† 1943-10-09
Bunnik (Utrecht)
This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel. - Belgium - early resistance - Group Erkens - He was not a resistance fighter in the Dutch province of Limburg, but was in close contact with them and therefore also appears on this list. He was a general practitioner in ’s-Gravenvoeren (Fouron-le-Comte) since 1925. In 1940, he became a member of the Clarence resistance network, of which he became the local leader. He collected a lot of information, among other things, on railroad movements. As a result of the Hannibalspiel he was arrested on October 15, 1942 and locked up in the prison of Saint-Léonard and the Camp Vught (NL). He was shot in Bunnik. He is buried in the cemetery of Fouron-le-Comte.This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.02-02
Jacobs,
Karel
Père Hugues /Pater Hugo
∗ 1900-11-17
Antwerpen
† 1943-10-09
Bunnik (Utrecht)
This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel. - Belgium - early resistance - press - Group Erkens - priest - He was not a resistance fighter in the Dutch province of Limburg, but was in close contact with them and therefore also appears on this list. His resistance activity began by helping escaped French prisoners of war to continue their escape. He was a Cistercian monk in the Abbey of Val-Dieu and was ordained priest on October 21, 1932. He then taught church history at Val-Dieu, was curator of the abbey museum and novice master. He and his confrere Stephanus Muhren, whom he trained, were active in the Clarence intelligence network (dr. Jules Goffin from Fouron-le-Comte) and active in the by Clarence people so called group Holland (of Nic. Erkens, at the time in hiding wirh his sisters in Sittard). Val-Dieu and the Fouron villages are located in the middle of the Liège-Maastricht-Aachen tri-border area and were therefore predestined to serve as hubs for escape networks. The two monks hid fugitives in the monastery and on the surrounding farms and watched the German transport activity on the rail lines of the border area. They were assisted by their German abbot, Alberich Steiger, who, among other things, banqueted with high German officers. Together with Fr. Hugo and Pol Nolens, vicar at Charneux, a clandestine newspaper reproduced with a spirit duplicator at Charneux was distributed, denouncing the misdeeds of National Socialism in the three national languages (La Tribune Libre in French, Het Vrije Woord in Dutch, and Das Freie Wort in German).
Arrested on March 19, 1943, the day after Fr. Stephen was arrested by the Geheime Feldpolizei (Secret Field Police) as a result of the Hannibal game, Fr. Hugo Jacobs was subjected to harsh interrogations in Liège in an attempt (unsuccessfully) to extract from him a confession about the abbot’s complicity or involvement. On August 11, 1943, he and ten others were sentenced to death by a court-martial in Utrecht for espionage and favoring the enemy. They were shot in Fort Rijnauwen near Utrecht on October 9, 1943. On the way to the execution site, he and his confrere wore their white Cistercian monk’s robes and loudly sang a religious hymn. His body was cremated, and the ashes were later buried in the abbey cemetery. A memorial plaque commemorates him in Fort Rijnauwen and in the abbey church of Val-Dieu.This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.02-03
Liedekerke de Pailhe, de
Raphael R.E.J.G.
∗ 1903-04-15
Eijsden
† 1943-10-09
Fort Rhijnauwen, prov. Utrecht
Eijsden - Belgium - early resistance - Group Erkens - He was one of eleven members of the Dutch resistance group around Nick Erkens executed by the Germans in fort Rhijnauwen near Bunnik, province of Utrecht. He was a reserve lieutenant in the Belgian army but lived in the Netherlands.wall: left, row 08-02
Muhren,
Piet
Père Étienne /Pater Stephanus
∗ 1908-09-14
Bergen-op-Zoom
† 1943-10-09
Bunnik (Utrecht)
This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel. - Belgium - early resistance - press - Group Erkens - priest - Petrus („Piet“) Johannes Cornelis Muhren was not a resistance fighter in the Dutch province of Limburg, but was in close contact with them and therefore also appears on this list. His German ancestors still wrote "Mühren", but in Dutch it is pronounced the same way.He entered the novitiate of the Dutch Cistercian Abbey of Mariënkroon in 1929 as Brother Canisius, but in 1933 he moved to the short-staffed Abbey of Val-Dieu in Aubel, Belgium, just over the border of Dutch South Limburg. There he received the monastic name Stephen (French: Étienne). He was ordained a priest in Val-Dieu on July 5, 1936. He was cantor for the next years and taught ecclesiastical law, dogmatics and philosophy at the internal teaching institution. When the Wehrmacht invaded in 1940, he initially fled to the west, distrusting his German abbot, but then returned and joined the Resistance with his confrere Hugo Jacobs. Through the general practitioner Jules Goffin, they came into contact with the intelligence and resistance network Clarence and the Erkens group. He observed the transports of the German army on the railroad lines in the area on extended bicycle tours and explained these tours with visits to women in need of pastoral help, which earned him the nickname Père Amoureux.
Val-Dieu and Voeren are located in the middle of the Liège-Maastricht-Aachen three-country triangle and were therefore virtually predestined as a hub for escape networks. Apart from monitoring German railroad activity, the two monks also hid fugitives in the monastery and on the surrounding farms of the border area. They were sustained discreetely by their German abbot Alberich Steiger, who, among other things, dined with high German officers. He and his confrere, together with Pol Nolens, vicar at Charneux, edited an illegal newspaper, reproduced with a spirit duplicator at Charneux, denouncing the misdeeds of National Socialism in the three Belgian languages (La Tribune Libre in French, Het Vrije Woord in Dutch, and Das Freie Wort in German).
On March 18, 1943, one day before Fr. Hugo, he was arrested by the Geheime Feldpolizei (Secret Police of the German army) as a result of the Hannibal Game. On August 11, 1943, he and ten others were sentenced to death by a court-martial in Utrecht for espionage and favoring the enemy. They were shot at Fort Rijnauwen near Utrecht (Netherlands) on October 9, 1943. On the way to the execution site, he and his confrere wore their white Cistercian monk’s robes and loudly sang a religious hymn. His body was cremated, and the ashes were later buried in the Val-Dieu monastery cemetery. A memorial plaque commemorates him in Fort Rijnauwen and in the abbey church of Val-Dieu.This person is not (yet?) listed on the walls of the chapel.02-04
Partouns,
Jozef J.G.
∗ 1911-01-03
Eijsden
† 1945-02-08
Vaihingen
Eijsden - early resistance - Group Erkens - Joseph Jean Gerard Partouns was a laboratory assistant. J. Arpots, J. Partouns, and J. Reintjens were three young men, one of whom worked for the Dutch railways. The three called themselves the Orange Triangle. They wrote down all the details about the rail traffic and passed the data to the town clerk Hubert Smeets, who typed them on cigarette papers in the town hall. Arrested in Eijsden on 05-11-1942. (Cammaert hoofdstuk II, p. 78) Imprisoned in Nacht und Nebel camp Natzweiler, died in Vaihingen, according to the War Graves Foundation on 14-01-1945.
See also: Monument of the Fallen Resistance Fighters in Vroenhof, Eijsden.wall: left, row 08-03
Rocks/Roks,
Jan Joseph
∗ 1883-05-21
Sibbe
† 1944-03-03
Natzweiler-Struthof
Valkenburg - early resistance - Group Erkens - Member of the early resistance group Erkens in Maastricht, co-owner of the guesthouse Samoshuis, the later hotel Parkhotel Atlanta. Nic Erkens spent some time in hiding with him, arrested in Valkenburg during the Hannibalspiel for spreading resistance literature on November 19, 1942. Piet Roks came home too late due to circumstances, saw the police cars standing in front of their house and could escape in time. Jan Joseph died in the Nacht und Nebel camp Natzweiler (Alsace) on 3 March 1944.
Totenzettel (Mark the spelling!)
See also The Fallen in Valkenburg
More in our story Resistance in Valkenburg
Jan Joseph Rocks/Roks op de lijst van personen die tijdens de bezetting belangrijk waren voor Valkenburg.wall: right, row 27-02
Schoenmaeckers /-makers,
Hélène
Lèneke
∗ 1894-07-03
Kapelhof-Rekem (B)
† 1945-07-11
Sankt Gallen (CH)
- Amby - early resistance - Group Erkens -

Ceremony Stumbling Stones

Marie Clotilde Hélène Schoenmaeckers came from a true resistance family. Her sister Adèle and her brother Paul with his sons were also closely involved in the resistance. She was unmarried and did volunteer work. Hélène’s mother, Pauline de Rosen, was friends with the couple De Liedekerke in Eijsden. Because they spoke French well, Hélène and her sister Adèle were asked by count de Liedekerke to help care for French-speaking escaped prisoners of war. They also helped other refugees. Among others, with the help of their brother Paul, who had been living in Belgium again since his marriage and was a member of the Comet escape line. The fugitives were brought to Belgium, either in Eijsden or crossing the Meuse River from Borgharen (NL) to Smeermaas (B). Hélène and Adèle were arrested at their parents’ home, the Withuishof in Amby, on November 5, 1942. Adèle was released the next day. Lèneke was in Ravensbrück, died shortly after her liberation in a sanatorium in Switzerland, because of the deprivation she had suffered. .

wall: left, row 01-02
Smeets,
Alphons
∗ 1887-07-14
Mheer (L)
† 1943-10-09
Fort Rhijnauwen, prov. Utrecht
Eijsden - early resistance - Group Erkens - Michiel Hubert Alphonse Smeets was a fruit grower and fruit merchant in Eijsden, neighbor and tenant of Raphael de Liedekerke and brother of the municipal secretary Hubert Smeets.
In the course of 1941 a resistance group emerged in Eijsden from the local concert band, see the introduction above the list of Eijsden’s fallen resistants. They were mainly occupied with smuggling people across the border who were wanted by the Germans, but also with intelligence work. Alphons Smeets often had to go to Belgium for his work.
Arrested as a result of the Hannibalspiel, an infiltration of the Marineabwehr (counterintelligence service of the German Navy in Groningen.
See also: Memorial to the fallen resistance fighters at Vroenhof, Eijsden..wall: left, row 07-05
Smeets,
Hubert
∗ 1892-08-27
Noorbeek;
† 1943-10-09
Fort Rhijnauwen, prov. Utrecht
Eijsden - early resistance - Group Erkens - C.H.A Smeets was municipal secretary and brother of Alphons Smeets. Member of the Belgian intelligence group Luc, section Renkin. He called in the help of J. Arpots, Jozef Partouns and J. Reintjens, three young people, one of whom worked at the Dutch Railways. They called themselves the "Orange Triangle". They noted down all details about the train traffic and passed on the data to Smeets, who typed them on cigarette papers at the town hall.
On 15 October 1942 arrested as a result of the Hannibalspiel, an infiltration by the Groningen office of the Marineabwehr, the counter intelligence service of the German navy. (By the way: Cammaert hoofdstuk II mentions two arrest dates. In an appendix he also mentions 7 October 1942). The court martial of the German air force imposed the death penalty on Smeets in Utrecht on 11 August 1943. In Eijsden the Hubert Smeetsstraat is named after him.
See also: Monument der gevallen verzetslieden in Vroenhof, Eijsdenwall: left, row 08-01

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg
Menu text, no JavaScript Log in  Deze pagina in het NederlandsDiese Seite auf DeutschThis page in English - ssssCette page en FrançaisEsta página em Portuguêsnach obenzurück
 

Die Gefallenen des Widerstands in Niederländisch-Limburg

voriges Bildbacknächstes Bild

Gruppe Erkens


Monument Rhijnauwen,
Wikimedia

Gruppe Erkens Als die Deutschen die Niederlande besetzt hatten, wurde Niek Erkens der Logistik der Armee in Rotterdam zugeteilt und sollte vor seiner Entlassung eine Bestandsaufnahme des ganzen dortigen Lagers machen. Er und seine Kameraden taten dies, indem sie erhebliche Mengen an Waffen, Munition und anderem Material verschwinden ließen. Im September 1941 wurden aufgrund von „Gesprächigkeit“ Dutzende von Menschen [10:08, 1.11.2021] Guido Schingsverhaftet, auch aus der Intendanz, und so entstand die Notwendigkeit, auch Menschen verschwinden zu lassen. Das war der Beginn der Gruppe Erkens. Dieser stammte aus Maastricht und war ein hervorragender Netzwerker. Über sein Netzwerk kam er in Kontakt mit Gruppen anderer Ex-Soldaten in Südlimburg wie Pierre Dresen, Charles Bongaerts und Sjef Smit. Pierre Dresen nahm Kontakt mit der Widerstandsgruppe in der Grenzgemeinde Eijsden auf, die sich um den Obstbauern Alphons Smeets und seinen Vermieter, den Grafen Raphael de Liedekerke gebildet hatte. Diese neue Gruppe Erkens arbeitete eng mit den belgischen Gruppen Luc /Marc und Clarence zusammen. Lesen Sie mehr darüber, wie sie Opfer einer Infiltration wurden: das Hannibalspiel.
De bevrijding van Eijsden-Margraten in september 1944

Gruppe Erkens – 11 Pers.   ⇒Alle Gefallenen des Limburger Widerstandes
Dresen,
Alf(ons)
∗ 1885-10-18
Luik
† 1944-01-05
Fort Rhijnauwen, Bunnik
Maastricht - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens - Alphonse Henri Louis Dresen war in Maastricht Chefverlader bei der Niederländischen Eisenbahngesellschaft und wusste als solcher alles über die Zugbewegungen in seinem Gebiet. Verheiratet, gehörte zur Widerstandsgruppe Erkens-De Liedekerke, verhaftet im Juli 1942, hingerichtet am 5.1.1944 in Bunnik bei Utrecht. Begraben in Maastricht. Er war ein Bruder von Pierre Dresen
Wand: links, Zeile 30-04
Erkens,
Niek /Nic
Van der Maas/ Niek
∗ 1894-10-10
Maastricht
† 1943-10-09
Fort Rhijnauwen (prov. Utrecht
Maastricht - Sittard - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens - Nicolaas Egidius Erkens war mit einer Lütticherin verheiratet, sprach gut französisch und organisierte den grenzüberschreitenden Widerstand gegen Belgien, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit der Schleusung von Flüchtlingen (Gruppe Erkens). Cammaert schreibt (Kapitel II, S. 85 und 87), dass er zwei Schwestern in Sittard hatte, bei denen er sich eine Zeit lang versteckt hielt und wo er am 11. November 1942 verhaftet wurde. Dies war das Ergebnis des Hannibalspiels, einer Infiltration durch die Marineabwehr in Groningen.
Wand: rechts, Zeile 18-03
Goffin,
Jules G.H.J.
∗ 1897-03-31
Noville-les-Bois
† 1943-10-09
Bunnik (Utrecht)
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet. - Belgien - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens - Er war kein Widerstandskämpfer in der niederl. Provinz Limburg, stand aber mit ihnen in engem Kontakt und darum steht auch er auf dieser Liste. Seit 1925 praktischer Arzt in Fouron-le-Comte.Im Jahr 1940 wurde er Mitglied des Widerstandsnetzwerks von Clarence, dessen lokaler Kopf er wurde. Er sammelte eine Vielzahl von Informationen, unter anderem über die Eisenbahnbewegungen. Nach dem Hannibalspiel wurde er am 15. Oktober 1942 verhaftet und im Gefängnis von St. Leonard und im Lager Vught (NL) eingesperrt. Er wurde in Bunnik erschossen. Beigesetzt auf dem Friedhof von Fouron-le-Comte.
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.02-02
Jacobs,
Karel
Père Hugues /Pater Hugo
∗ 1900-11-17
Antwerpen
† 1943-10-09
Bunnik (Utrecht)
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet. - Belgien - früher Widerstand - Presse - Gruppe Erkens - Geistlicher - Er war kein Widerstandskämpfer in der niederl. Provinz Limburg, stand aber mit ihnen in engem Kontakt und darum steht auch er auf dieser Liste. Seine Widerstandstätigkeit begann damit, dass er entflohenen französischen Kriegsgefangenen zur Weiterflucht verhalf. Er war Zisterziensermönch in der Abtei von Val-Dieu und wurde am 21. Oktober 1932 zum Priester geweiht. Danach lehrte er in Val-Dieu Kirchengeschichte, war Kustos des Abteimuseums und Novizenmeister. Er und sein von ihm ausgebildete Mitbruder Stephanus Muhren waren im Spionagenetzwerk Clarence (dr. Jules Goffin aus Fouron-le-Comte) sowie in der bei Clarence so genannte Gruppe Holland (Nic. Erkens, zu der Zeit untergetaucht in Sittard) aktiv. Val-Dieu und Voeren liegen mitten im Dreiländereck Lüttich-Maastricht-Aachen und waren daher als Drehscheibe für Fluchtnetzwerke geradezu prädestiniert. Die beiden Mönchen versteckten Flüchtlinge im Kloster und auf den umliegenden Höfen und überwachte die deutschen Eisenbahnaktivitäten auf den Bahnlinien des Grenzgebiets. Sie wurden von ihrem deutschen Abt Alberich Steiger unterstützt, indem dieser u.A. mit hohen deutschen Offizieren tafelte. Gemeinsam mit seinem Mitbruder und Pol Nolens, Kaplan in Charneux, wurde eine illegale, in Charneux auf einem Matritzendrucker reproduzierte Zeitung verteilt, die in den drei Landessprachen (La Tribune Libre auf Französisch, Het Vrije Woord auf Niederländisch und Das Freie Wort auf Deutsch) die Missetaten des Nationalsozialismus anprangerte.
Am 19. März 1943, einen Tag nach P. Stephanus, von der Geheimen Feldpolizei als Folge des Hannibalspiels verhaftet, wurde Hugo Jacobs in Lüttich harten Verhören unterzogen, um ihm (erfolglos) ein Geständnis über die Mitwisserschaft oder Beteiligung des Abtes abzuringen. Am 11. August 1943 wurden er und zehn weitere Personen von einem Kriegsgericht in Utrecht wegen „Spionage und Feindbegünstigung“ zum Tode verurteilt. Sie wurden am 9. Oktober 1943 in Fort Rijnauwen bei Utrecht erschossen. Auf dem Weg zur Hinrichtungsstätte trugen er und sein Mitbruder ihre weißen Zisterziensermönchskutten und sangen lautstark ein religiöses Lied. Seine Leiche wurde eingeäschert, die Asche später auf dem Klosterfriedhof Val-Dieu beigesetzt. Im Fort Rijnauwen und in der Abteikirche Val-Dieu erinnert eine Gedenktafel an ihn.
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.02-03
Liedekerke de Pailhe, de
Raphael R.E.J.G.
∗ 1903-04-15
Eijsden
† 1943-10-09
Fort Rhijnauwen, prov. Utrecht
Eijsden - Belgien - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens - Er war eines von elf Mitgliedern der niederländischen Widerstandsgruppe um Nik Erkens, die von den Deutschen im Fort Rhijnauwen bei Bunnik, Provinz Utrecht, hingerichtet wurden. Er war Reserveleutnant in der belgischen Armee, lebte aber in den Niederlanden.
Wand: links, Zeile 08-02
Muhren,
Piet
Père Étienne /Pater Stephanus
∗ 1908-09-14
Bergen-op-Zoom
† 1943-10-09
Bunnik (Utrecht)
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet. - Belgien - früher Widerstand - Presse - Gruppe Erkens - Geistlicher - Petrus („Piet“) Johannes Cornelis Muhren war kein Widerstandskämpfer in der niederl. Provinz Limburg, stand aber mit ihnen in engem Kontakt und darum steht auch er auf dieser Liste. Seine deutschen Ahnen schrieben noch „Mühren“, das wird aber gleich ausgesprochen. Er ist 1929 als Bruder Canisius in das Noviziat der niederländischen Zisterzienserabtei Mariënkroon eingetreten, wechselte aber 1933 in die unter Personalmangel leidende Abtei Val-Dieu (Godsdal) in Aubel, Belgien, gleich hinter der Grenze des niederländischen Süd-Limburg, wo er den Ordensnamen Stephanus (frz. Étienne) erhielt. Am 5. Juli 1936 in Val-Dieu zum Priester geweiht. Er war in den nächsten Jahren Kantor und lehrte Kirchenrecht, Dogmatik und Philosophie an der internen Lehranstalt. Beim Einmarsch der Wehrmacht 1940 floh er zunächst nach Westen und misstraute seinem deutschen Abt. Kehrte dann aber zurück und stieg mit seinem Mitbruder Hugo Jacobs in den Widerstand ein. Über den Allgemeinmediziner Jules Goffin aus ’s-Gravenvoeren kamen sie mit dem Widerstandsnetzwerk und der bei Clarence so genannten Gruppe Holland (von Nic. Erkens in Kontakt. Er beobachtete auf ausgedehnten Radtouren die Transporte der deutschen Armee auf den Bahnlinien in der Gegend und erklärte das mit Besuchen an Frauen die seelsorgerische Hilfe bräuchten, was ihm den Spitznamen Père Amoureux einbrachte.
Val-Dieu und Voeren liegen mitten im Dreiländereck Lüttich-Maastricht-Aachen und waren daher als Drehscheibe für Fluchtnetzwerke geradezu prädestiniert. Die beiden Mönchen versteckten Flüchtlinge im Kloster und auf den umliegenden Höfen und überwachte die deutschen Eisenbahnaktivitäten auf den Bahnlinien des Grenzgebiets. Sie wurden von ihrem deutschen Abt Alberich Steiger unterstützt, indem dieser u.A. mit hohen deutschen Offizieren tafelte. Gemeinsam mit seinem Mitbruder und Pol Nolens, Kaplan in Charneux, wurde eine illegale, in Charneux auf einem Matritzendrucker reproduzierte Zeitung verteilt, die in den drei Landessprachen (La Tribune Libre auf Französisch, Het Vrije Woord auf Niederländisch und Das Freie Wort auf Deutsch) die Missetaten des Nationalsozialismus anprangerte.
Am 18. März 1943, einen Tag vor P. Hugo, von der Geheimen Feldpolizei als Folge des Hannibalspiels verhaftet. Am 11. August 1943 wurden er und zehn weitere Personen von einem Kriegsgericht in Utrecht wegen „Spionage und Feindbegünstigung“ zum Tode verurteilt. Sie wurden am 9. Oktober 1943 in Fort Rijnauwen bei Utrecht erschossen. Auf dem Weg zur Hinrichtungsstätte trugen er und sein Mitbruder ihre weißen Zisterziensermönchskutten und sangen lautstark ein religiöses Lied. Seine Leiche wurde eingeäschert, die Asche später auf dem Klosterfriedhof Val-Dieu beigesetzt. Im Fort Rijnauwen und in der Abteikirche Val-Dieu erinnert eine Gedenktafel an ihn.
Diese Person ist (noch?) nicht an den Wänden der Kapelle aufgelistet.02-04
Partouns,
Jozef J.G.
∗ 1911-01-03
Eijsden
† 1945-02-08
Vaihingen
Eijsden - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens - Joseph Jean Gerard Partouns war Laborant. J. Arpots, J. Partouns und J. Reintjens waren drei junge Männer, von denen einer bei der niederländischen Eisenbahn arbeitete. Die drei nannten sich das Orangene Dreieckchen. Sie notierten alle Einzelheiten des Bahnverkehrs und gaben die Daten an den Gemeindesekretär Hubert Smeets weiter, der sie im Rathaus auf Zigarettenpapier abtippte. Am 05.11.1942 in Eijsden verhaftet. (Cammaert hoofdstuk II, S. 78) Inhaftiert im Nacht und Nebel-Lager Natzweiler, gestorben in Vaihingen, laut Oorlogsgravenstichting.nl am 14.01.1945.
Siehe auch: Denkmal für die gefallenen Widerstandskämpfer in Vroenhof, Eijsden.
Wand: links, Zeile 08-03
Rocks/Roks,
Jan Joseph
∗ 1883-05-21
Sibbe
† 1944-03-03
Natzweiler-Struthof
Valkenburg - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens - Mitglied der frühen Widerstandsgruppe Erkens in Maastricht, Miteigentümer des Gästehauses Samoshuis, dem späteren Hotel Parkhotel Atlanta. Nic Erkens war einige Zeit bei ihm untergetaucht. Er wurde am 19. November 1942 in Valkenburg im Rahmen des Hannibalspiels verhaftet. Vorwurf: Verbreitung von Widerstandsliteratur. Piet Roks kam aufgrund der Umstände zu spät nach Hause, sah die Überfallwagen vor ihrem Haus stehen und konnte rechtzeitig fliehen. Jan Joseph starb am 3. März 1944 im Nacht und Nebel Lager in Natzweiler (Elsass).
Totenzettel (Beachten Sie die Schreibweise!)
Siehe auch Die Gefallenen in Valkenburg
Mehr in unserer Geschichte Widerstand in Valkenburg
Jan Joseph Rocks/Roks op de lijst van personen die tijdens de bezetting belangrijk waren voor Valkenburg.
Wand: rechts, Zeile 27-02
Schoenmaeckers /-makers,
Hélène
Lèneke
∗ 1894-07-03
Kapelhof-Rekem (B)
† 1945-07-11
Sankt Gallen (CH)
- Amby - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens -

Zeremonie Stolpersteine

Marie Clotilde Hélène Schoenmaeckers stammt aus einer echten Widerstandsfamilie. Ihre Schwester Adèle und ihr Bruder Paul mit seinen Söhnen waren ebenfalls eng in den Widerstand eingebunden. Sie war unverheiratet und leistete ehrenamtliche Arbeit. Die Mutter von Hélène, Pauline de Rosen, war mit dem Ehepaar De Liedekerke in Eijsden befreundet. Da sie gut Französisch sprachen, wurden Hélène und ihre Schwester Adèle von Graf de Liedekerke gebeten, bei der Betreuung französischsprachiger entkommener Kriegsgefangener zu helfen. Sie halfen auch anderen Flüchtlingen. Unter anderem mit Hilfe ihres Bruders Paul, der seit seiner Heirat wieder in Belgien wohnte und Mitglied der Komet Fluchtroute war. Die Flüchtlinge wurden nach Belgien gebracht, entweder über Eijsden oder von Borgharen (NL) nach Smeermaas (B) über die Maas. Hélène und Adèle wurden am 5. November 1942 in ihrem Elternhaus, dem Withuishof in Amby, verhaftet. Adèle wurde am nächsten Tag freigelassen. Lèneke war in Ravensbrück, starb kurz nach ihrer Befreiung in einem Sanatorium in der Schweiz, Todesursache waren die erlittenen Strapazen.


Wand: links, Zeile 01-02
Smeets,
Alphons
∗ 1887-07-14
Mheer (L)
† 1943-10-09
Fort Rhijnauwen, prov. Utrecht
Eijsden - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens - Michiel Hubert Alphonse Smeets war Obstbauer und -Händler in Eijsden, Nachbar und Pächter von Raphael de Liedekerke und Bruder des Gemeindesekretärs Hubert Smeets.
Im Laufe des Jahres 1941 bildete sich in Eijsden eine Widerstandsgruppe aus dem örtlichen Harmonieorchester, siehe die Einleitung über der Liste der gefallenen Widerständler von Eijsden. Ihre Haupttätigkeit war das Schleusen von Personen über die Grenze, die von den Deutschen gesucht wurden, aber auch nachrichtendienstliche Arbeit. Alphons Smeets musste für seine Arbeit oft nach Belgien.
Verhaftet im Zusammenhang mit dem Hannibalspiel, einer Infiltration durch die Marineabwehr in Groningen.
Siehe auch: Denkmal für gefallene Widerstandskämpfer in Vroenhof, Eijsden.
Wand: links, Zeile 07-05
Smeets,
Hubert
∗ 1892-08-27
Noorbeek;
† 1943-10-09
Fort Rhijnauwen, prov. Utrecht
Eijsden - früher Widerstand - Gruppe Erkens - C.H.A Smeets war Gemeindesekretär und Bruder von Alphons Smeets. Mitglied des belgischen Nachrichtendienstes Luc, Sektion Renkin. Er holte sich die Hilfe von J. Arpots, Jozef Partouns und J. Reintjens, drei jungen Leuten, von denen einer bei der niederländischen Eisenbahn arbeitete. Sie nannten sich das "Orangene Dreieck". Sie notierten alle Details über den Zugverkehr und gaben die Daten an Smeets weiter, der sie im Rathaus auf Zigarettenpapier abtippte.
Am 15. Oktober 1942 verhaftet als Ergebnis des Hannibalspiels, einer Infiltration durch die Groninger Dienststelle der Marineabwehr, dem Gegennachrichtendienst der deutschen Marine. (Übrigens: Cammaert nennt im Kap.II zwei Verhaftungsdaten. In einem Anhang erwähnt er auch den 7. Oktober 1942). Das Kriegsgericht der deutschen Luftwaffe verhängte am 11. August 1943 in Utrecht die Todesstrafe gegen Smeets. In Eijsden ist die Hubert Smeetsstraat nach ihm benannt.
Siehe auch:Monument der gevallen verzetslieden in Vroenhof, Eijsden
Wand: links, Zeile 08-01